OU’s move to SEC to end Bedlam Series

The approaching move of the University of Oklahoma and the University of Texas to the Southeastern Conference will end OU’s Bedlam series rivalry with Oklahoma State, according to Brett McMurphy of the Action Network.

McMurphy’s reporting claimed that both athletic directors at the Big 12 institutions confirmed the news, with Oklahoma State making the move to end the series, citing Oklahoma’s decision to leave the Big 12, and OSU’s already set scheduling structure through the 2020’s that leaves little room for a non-conference game with the Sooners.

The series, which began in 1904, has been dominated by the blueblood program out of Norman, with Oklahoma winning 90 games to the Cowboys 19.  There have been seven ties.  Oklahoma and Texas have announced intentions to join the Southeastern Conference by no later than July 1, 2025.  The Big 12, in response, will be adding Cincinnati, BYU, Houston, and Central Florida, bringing the league back to its original 12 school status from its founding in 1996, despite the departures of Nebraska, Colorado, Texas A&M, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas.  Kansas, Iowa State, Oklahoma State, Baylor, Kansas State, and Texas Tech will be the only remaining original members of the Big 12.

Related posts