Missouri Western State University is a Division II school based out of St. Joseph, Missouri. They are nicknamed the Griffons.

MIAA announces 2023 football honors, with MWSU’s Streeter named Defensive POY

Local Sports NCAA

The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) has revealed its All-MIAA teams and postseason awards for the recently concluded 2023 football season.

A total of 138 football student-athletes received All-MIAA honors for their performances during the 2023 MIAA season, which concluded on November 11. Both Central Missouri and Pittsburg State concluded the regular season with 9-1 records, earning them a share of the MIAA title. This marks the second consecutive title for the Gorillas and the first for the Mules since they shared the title in 2019.

A notable highlight of the postseason awards is the Association’s Player of the Year, which was awarded to Central Missouri’s Zach Zebrowski. In his debut season with the Mules, Zebrowski, a redshirt junior transfer from Woodbury, Minn., had an outstanding season, leading all NCAA football divisions (FBS, FCS, II, III) in passing touchdowns (49), passing yards (4,265), and total offense (424.4 yards per game). His remarkable achievements include setting a MIAA record-breaking 615 yards and eight touchdowns against No. 23-ranked Emporia State in week eight.

Missouri Western’s Dakari Streeter was named the 2023 MIAA Defensive Player of the Year. A redshirt senior from Bridgeton, Mo., Streeter, standing at 6-2 and 270 pounds, dominated with a MIAA-leading 12.5 sacks, 1.14 sacks per game, leading in tackles for loss (14.0), and yards tackled (91).

Ross Brungardt from Emporia State received the Special Teams Player of the Year award for his exceptional performance as a punter. Brungardt, a senior from Lawrence, Kan., led the MIAA in punting yards (2,216), touchbacks (10), and average yards per punt (43.5).

Seth Cromwell from Missouri Western was honored as the 2023 MIAA Freshman of the Year. The redshirt freshman running back rushed for the second-most touchdowns in the MIAA with 16, accumulating 716 yards at 5.7 yards per carry.

Central Missouri’s Head Coach Josh Lamberson was named the MIAA Coach of the Year, leading UCM to a share of the 2023 title. The Mules, currently leading Division II football with 598.9 yards per game, secured a playoff-clinching season, advancing to the NCAA playoffs for the first time since 2019.

Pittsburg State and Missouri Western led the way with the most individual awards, each earning 20. Central Missouri, Emporia State, and Fort Hays State followed closely with 17 each, and Northwest Missouri with 16. Other teams accumulating awards include Missouri Southern (10), Central Oklahoma (8), Nebraska Kearney (6), Washburn (5), and Northeastern State (2).

Here are the 2023 MIAA Football Postseason Awards and All-MIAA Teams:


OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Zach Zebrowski, Central Missouri, QB, Sr.
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Dakari Streeter, Missouri Western, DL, Sr.
SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ross Brungardt, Emporia State, P, Sr.
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Seth Cromwell, Missouri Western, RB
COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Lamberson, Central Missouri