US-36 features exciting racing night

Auto Racing Local Sports

The recent race night at US 36 Speedway provided thrilling and competitive racing action across various categories. Here’s a recap of the exciting races and notable highlights from the event:

IMCA/USRA Stock Cars: Randy Smith Jr. showcased his skills, claiming his second victory of the year. Smith Jr. dominated both the heat race and feature, but faced tough competition, particularly from Mike Nichols, who challenged for the lead before encountering engine issues. Matthew Lance and Brad Derry made strong moves in the closing laps but couldn’t catch Smith Jr. Michael Ross recovered from an early spin to secure fourth, while Caleb Dennis secured a solid fifth-place finish.

IMCA Mod Lite Feature: Dillon Raffurty maintained his dominance by winning both his heat and feature races. Despite strong competition from Nathan Wolfe and Michael Raffurty, Dillon led the race from the start and secured victory in Nextran Truck Center Victory Lane. Michael Raffurty finished second, followed by Justin Raffurty. Jeff Raffurty and Nathan Wolfe rounded out the top five.

E-Mod Feature: The E-Mods provided intense racing with heat race winners Michael Hascall, Logan Rash, and Coleman Browning setting the pace. Casey Burnett and Coleman Browning engaged in an exciting battle for the lead throughout the feature. Burnett made the necessary adjustments and managed to secure the lead, holding off Browning to claim victory. Blake Hayes battled Michael Hascall and Josh Marshall to finish third, while Michael Hascall secured fourth and Josh Marshall took fifth.

Pure Stock Feature: Tyler Starmer and Alvie Christofferson led a competitive Pure Stock feature race. Despite early challenges, Tyler Starmer held onto the lead and claimed his fourth feature win of the season. Christofferson finished second, followed by Jeffrey Sears, Jakub Hisel, and Anthony Whitham, who engaged in a spirited battle for podium positions.

USRA B-Mod Feature: Tyler Cadwallader and Truman Asher, both heat race winners, engaged in a thrilling battle at the front of the USRA B-Mod feature. Cadwallader managed to fend off Asher’s challenges and secured the victory. Tim Eaton, Chris Wright, and Stephen Clancy showcased impressive driving, rounding out the top five.

IMCA RaceSaver Wing Sprint Feature: Mike Houseman Jr. emerged victorious in the IMCA RaceSaver Wing Sprint feature. Natalie Doney and Jay Russell won their respective heat races. Houseman Jr. exhibited strong performance, passing the leaders to secure the lead and eventually the win. Gunner Pike and Jacob Dye also impressed in the race, securing third and fourth places, respectively.

Sport Compact Feature: Samuel Moore, a heat race winner, displayed his prowess in the Sport Compact feature. Moore led from the start, despite contact with the wall, and secured his second feature win of the year. Jeremy Sims and Landon Brown engaged in intense battles, with Sims ultimately finishing second and Brown third. Franklin Reed and Autumn Manley completed the top five.

The race night at US 36 Speedway delivered intense competition, close battles, and thrilling victories across various categories, leaving fans and drivers alike satisfied with the exciting racing action.